• A few general newbee questions (no tech support request)

Hello everyone,
    Although I’ve been using openSuse for quite a while, I’m not an expert- not even an intermediate. openSuse is about to release V15.0 in a few days, and when that happens I want to switch to a different distro instead of upgrading suse.

Here are my questions:

1. I’ve heard Arch is the most challenging “experts-only” distro, and Antergos is based on Arch. Does this mean I’ll have serious problems if I switch to Antergos? Like I said, I’m a complete noob.

2. I use an external sound card (openSuse detects it as CM108 Audio Controller). Will this be supported by default? I also have a functioning internal audio controller on this Dell laptop. OpenSuse allows me to “Switch” between the cards by clicking on the speaker icon in system tray. Will this feature be available?

3. Programs I use most often: Firefox, Google Chrome, SMPlayer, HandBrake, Ktorrent, Thunderbird, Xtreme Download Manager, TeamViewer, LibreOffice, VLC, Xfce4-screenshooter, and Amarok. Are all these available for Antergos (KDE version)?

4. Graphics: Intel HD Graphics 5500, WiFi Intel AC3160. Will these be supported out of the box?

5. Is BtrFS available? OpenSuse has this thing called “Snapper” which creates automatic snapshots (sort of like Windows’ System Restore) and allows to quickly go back to a previous date in case of trouble. Is such a thing available?

6. I’ve never used anything other than openSuse stable (and Windows of course, but not dual boot- Windows is used in my office laptop, and Linux exclusively on my home laptop). Since this is a rolling release like openSuse Tumbleweed, can this be used as a regular desktop OS? In other words, is it stable enough to be used as a main OS? Like I said, I won’t be dual-booting.