• Text only installation, installing DE afterwards

I was thinking about trying to learn a bit more here; I am basically a Linux Noob, coming back to it after a short test run in it back when Linux Mint was brand new (so that’s a while ago).
    Installed Antergos KDE a week ago and it more or less works fine (my only real problem is that the driver package for my printer is broken, so I have to save files to PDF then print them out using a stick from my Windows.

However, it seems I am bouncing off KDE, just like last time. Last time i jumped into it, loving it for a few days then realizing there was too much that bothered me. Not trying to start a flame war or anything but I was thinking of going either Gnome or Cinnamon, do a new clean install and thne thought… Hey why not go a little bit longer just to learn a little bit more?

SO:

1. It seems internet drivers are functioning in text only due to well the fine job done by the Antegros team? Makes things easier.
    2. If I install a “pure” installation of Gnome or Cinnamon, how much will follow? Icon themes etc?
    3. Will the graphical package manager be installed or easily installable?
  • @snailbeard said in Text only installation, installing DE afterwards:

If I install a “pure” installation of Gnome or Cinnamon

what do you want say here? You want a fresh install without any DE? and then install GNOME or Cinnamon by hand from CLI/TTY?

If you want to why not… but to get system work you will need to configure from scratch to then, not only theming also DM (Loginmanager) and basic services like network-manager to get network configs working inside DE later… cups… avahi-daemon … …

This is basicly like installing pure Archlinux.

[updates once a week] = [90% less problems]
    antergos:_rescue
    how to add system logs:
    wget http://bit.ly/2GCG9k2 && sh 2GCG9k2
    :handshake: donate antergos