• Some general comments on "out of the box" user-friendliness

Hi,
    I would like to make some general comments about “out of the box” user friendliness.
    (This is intended to be constructive. I think arch/Antergos are great, and the easy install+sane defaults out-of-the-box experience for arch fills an important need)

First for some context, I’m an experienced linux user, but mainly Fedora/Redhat/Ubuntu (and actually coming from Kubuntu as my desktop OS), so I’m new to Arch at least.

I’ve installed a KDE desktop, so some of my issues are specific to that

1. Default packages (in particular “optional dependencies” for default installed apps)
      List of things which were not working and fixed simply by installing additional packages
      a) Flac and mp3 playback in clementine not working. (Fixed by installing the various gstreamer0.10 plugin packages)
      b) spell check in kde applications not working (needed to install aspell-en)
      c) spell check in libre office not working (needed to install hunspell-en)
      d) I think pulseaudio should be installed by default in a modern distro (but there may be conflicting opinions about this). Everything worked as expected simply by installing the package in any case.

2. Nvidia binary drivers
      Would be nice to have an easier/more user friendly way to install them (a la ubuntu restricted drivers utility). I had to remove a few nouveau packages by hand to resolve the dependencies.
      (Incidentally I personally have a GTX580 and had problems with nouveau already in the installer, which I worked around with nomodeset. An option to use nvidia drivers already in the live environment could be interesting)

3. Gnome wifi password bug was extremely annoying in the installer.
      (I don’t use gnome in general, but I had to mess around for a few minutes to figure out how to connect to the wifi)
      Same issue as reported here: