• Some thoughts on Desktop Environments

I’m not a developer neither an advanced Linux user and these are just my opinions at the moment, they might change in the future and might not make sense to everyone, this is from a user perspective:

Cinnamon
    Easy to use, some nice features, it’s a bit heavy if your computer is old. Never used for enough time to see if there are many bugs or not, so I won’t comment.

GNOME
    Very simple and easy to use, anyone that has used a smartphone before will know how to use it. You can even use with touchscreen, something that will be more common in the next years because of convertible laptops.

Removing features(like task bar and desktop icons) and replacing them with extensions have the advantage of less things breaking(bugs) for the average user and focusing more in the rest of the DE. Most people will not bother installing extensions because they usually stick to defaults. Sadly a lot of extensions are not updated and some don’t work.

Animations are still a bit slow and stutter for older computers, they will probably fix this in the next years. It’s a bit heavy(~1GB RAM) but in 5-10 years almost every computer will be able to run it with no problems because old hardware with 2 GB RAM or less and simple CPUs will break at some point.

KDE
    Tons of features and customizations possible, not recommended for beginners, it’s not for everyone(some people like, some people don’t). It was heavy but now it uses something like 400 MB RAM idle, it has improved a lot.

The main issues: bugs and GTK apps(KDE uses Qt). I was using 5.12.x recently and KDE has improved a lot, they are doing a great job. As more people use it, the bugs will become less frequent and less serious, more eyes = less bugs.

LXDE/LXQt