• Locale problems after install

Hi!

Thats my first post here, I am new to Antergos and i’d like to tell about the problem I encountered during my first install.

For starters, I do not consider myself as IT pro, and I had only very limited experience with Linux in my life.

I did followed all the install steps in cnchi and successfully installed Antergos on t470s from the first time. During install I chose my country -Russia and Russian as language (its increadebly silly, i’d never do that 10 years ago, but I guess I got too lazy). But after install I could not log in to the system, it kept telling me that the password is wrong.

Long story short, (after I changed root and users passwds from live os USB several times) it turned out that my password was right, but cnchi build me a system without any kind of Latin language/keyboard, and I simply couldn’t type it in. It took me about 3 hours to find and fix the problem during witch I learned a lot about how Linux handle languages in general, but it is not an expirience for light hearted, without en_UTF-8 every output from cli i got was broken fonts, no reading "man"s, even nano interface was broken.

I see here several points for improvement:

Cnchi should not let user configure system without at least some kind of English/Latin.

In the login window there is no way to tell what you are typing, no option to reveal password no indicator of language.

Hope this would be of help
    Cheers)

• @i6mael
    Hi!
    That’s known by @developers, i’m sure they’re working on it.

Portergos site
    https://github.com/Portergos/portergos-iso

Still in love with Antergos (default OS)
    I3wm

Linux newbie since 06/2016

• The only solution for that is, always install as English. And never use locale chars in passwords.

I NEVER install in another language, because after the install, it’s time to configure everything.