• DE choice

Hi, i am a computer science student and i want to install Antergos on my laptop, but i need help with the choice of a desktop eviroment.
    What i require is a desktop enviroment that is lightweight and with a first class multi-monitor support for programming sessions and slideshows (for exams).
    Suggestions?

• I think the multi-monitor support is in an app, so is slideshows (Libreoffice) but from what I sense from your needs, I think openbox will be the best option for you. It is highly configurable and very lightweight.

KDE/XFCE/i3-WM

Everybody is a genius, but if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing its stupid.

• @TheUnderground95 said in DE choice:

desktop enviroment that is lightweight

XFCE or MATE

and with a first class multi-monitor support for programming sessions and slideshows (for exams).

I don’t know the best answer to this.

• Actually I installed Antergos Gnome on a small, several years old Lenovo netbook, and it performed well. I do believe it’s lightweight enough to work well on each not-really-ancient machine. And it has no problem with dual monitor setup.

Take a look at my portfolio

• ya i would do Gnome as well since i know they have good dual monitor support. see if the DE is too heavy for you.

i never setup dual monitor so not sure who else has good support for that.

• @piotr and there we go. thanks for the shot. ya always heard Gnome has good support for that.

• Thanks to everyone

• Hi,
    i work everyday with a two monitors setup (scribus svn, inkscape, rawtherapee, gimp) and gnome is problem free for me.

Roby

• The best thing you can do is to test a few Desktop Environments and check what is best for your daily use. One day with each D.E. should be enough.

For example I use GNOME and I’m happy with it, it suits my needs. But this is me, you can have different needs or like anything else, just try a few ones and stick with what you prefer most.