• Unable to boot after installing Nvidia driver

Hi, everyone. I had been using Linux Mint for about 3 years and decided to move to Antergos after a mint update broke my system during finals. It really didn’t take long to fall in love with Antergos after playing around with it for an hour or two. Everything worked great until I went and installed the nvidia driver (my system is an MSI gt20 series laptop with an optimus card - Nvidia m770gtx/intel).

I was initially able to log in with the fallback lts kernel image, but no longer. I assumed the grub entry “gfxpayout=keep” may have something to do with the ACPI errors that cause my system to hang.
    0_1514007308826_20171222_141352.jpg

I have tried several combinations in grub to try getting back into the system to uninstall the nvidia packages. The furthest I can get when playing around with the grub config is the following, but then it hangs indefinitely:
    0_1514007371510_20171222_143011.jpg

I live in a very rural area, my internet is basically 90s slow and I would love to be able to login and fix this rather than reinstall (not to mention saving the wear and tear on my ssd drive).

Thank you

• @BSWent
    You could boot with the installer usb stick and use something like
    mount /dev/sda1 /mnt # modify sda1 for your system
    arch-chroot /mnt
    to get back in control to your system and uninstall bad stuff with
    pacman -Rsn <packages>

• @manuel

Thank you so much for responding. This was straightforward, thank you. I was able to chroot into my system and remove some of the nvidia packages. There are at least 3 that I can identify that will not remove.

I used the following line to list the installed packages
    expac --timefmt=’%Y-%m-%d %T’ ‘%l\t%n’ | sort | tail -n 100

I used pacman -Rsn to remove some packages like nvidia-lts

The ones that will not remove are:
    nvidia, libvdpau, lib32-libvdpau

the results are:
    [[email protected] /]# pacman -Rsn nvidia
    checking dependencies…