• Big picture: Why don't more Distro teams work together?

Hey,

I’m not a developer but I wanted to get the perspective of people who work on these projects -

Why don’t more distros work together and say, converge their workload? I mean, there’s lots of distros that are essentially the same? Like, what about Manjaro, Arch and Antergos joining and having different ISO offerings, like a totally customizable Arch-like installer, but also being able to offer a more mature repo like the one that Manjaro holds back a couple weeks longer than arch? And the Antergos repo that has these beautifully customized desktop environments and easy-to-install ZFS?

Wouldn’t it make it easier to get stuff done if each project team isn’t re-inventing the wheel?

Do Antergos developers contribute to the Arch repositories? Antegros uses Arch repositories with an extra one “in front” for Antegros-specific packages, right? (or am I wrong?)

Just kinda wonder, with the number of distros out there these days, seems like there would be a lot of merit in working together more rather than splitting farther apart…

What do you think?

Antergos x86_64 ZFS root w/Cinnamon est Nov 25, 2017 – because after a long week of struggling, I got tired of trying to put Arch on ZFS root…

"Linux … is more a phenomenon than an OS" - Joekamprad

• Some Linux minds criticize this also, they say that this is a main reason why Linux do not reach the personal desktop that much.

But in comparison to OS from big companies like microsoft and apple, there is not that one leader on top of all developping.
    Linux is different in many ways, it is more a phenomenon then an OS ;)

There is no consens, to be humble to the leader, so if you do not like an idea, you split and go somewhere else…

This is caused by history, and the free and open structure of linux itself.