• Black screen at login with lightdm + nvidia driver

Hi All,

I’m not an enormously knowledgeable linux user (although I’ve used it for quite a number of years now) and I’m an Arch newbie.

I installed Antegros with Gnome 3, and everything seemed to go smoothly until I rebooted. Basic startup seemed to happen OK, but on loading the graphical desktop I was just greeted with a blank screen, no cursor, no nothing. Ctrl-Alt-F2 got me a TTY, however, and there didn’t seem to be anything obviously incriminating in the lightdm logs - lightdm had started successfully; and I didn’t see anything obvious in the X logs either.

After reading a few posts online, I tried switching to GDM, and this seemed to work ok, so I left it at that. Unfortunately, after a while I came to realise how much I dislike Gnome 3, particularly on Wayland, and wanted to switch back to Cinnamon (I was a Mint user before). This is when the wheels started to fall off. I tried using pacman to get rid of gnome and install Cinnamon, but all I ended up with was some sort of butchered gnome with no apps. It seemed like perhaps it was gdm that was causing the problem, so I tried switching out for lightdm, but I got the black screen again.

At this point I decided to start afresh and reinstall, selecting Cinnamon from the beginning. Black screen on bootup. Sigh. Installed gdm, disabled lightdm, enabled gdm - back to the sort of “butchered gnome install” instead of Cinnamon.

More reading; switched to nouveau. Ok, now I have a system that boots with lightdm into Cinnamon: progress - I now know that the problem is some relationship between lightdm and nvidia. But nouveau is too slow for me - I want the proprietary driver, so I need to fix it.