• Favorite Applications and Programs

Hey Guys,

I’m pretty new to Antergos (not to Linux, was a big Ubuntu user previously). Wanted to ask what everyone’s favorite applications, programs, etc. they need for their daily work-flow. Can range from anything to browsers, text editors, specific hacks or tweaks, etc.

Just looking to improve my basic applications and really get going with my Antergos install.

Thanks,
    Asif

• @a4orce84 said

’m pretty new to Antergos (not to Linux, was a big Ubuntu user previously).

Come on, you re not ptretty new to Antergos. You ve been with us for quite a long time as far as I remember.
    As to apps. Both Antergos & Ubuntu, as Linux distros, share the same apps. Chances are that you won t find one that you used to have in Ubuntu.
    Unless you re looking for something with a specific use. In such a case, please be more specific.
    Cheers

• As for me, these are probably my must haves:

• Vivaldi
    • Pamac
    • Rhythmbox
    • WPS Office
    • Grub Customizer
    • Timeshift

What about you though, @a4orce84?

• In addition to what’s been summed up by @just 's thread and @Keegan I can add:
    Thermald
    Chromium widevine
    Clonezilla
    Deja-dup

• Grrrrrrrrr!!! No closed source/proprietary apps!!! Don t encourage them!!! Encourrage free & open source software!!!

• I’m so sorry that I’ve upset you, wasn’t fully aware that I committed a crime. I assume you’re aiming at the widevine app. Since I’m not keen on firefox I installed it to watch the content of my cable tv provider online and Netflix.

• Hmmm… I’ve never heard of Thermald or Deja-dup. What do those do?

• @Keegan Thermald regulates the temperature of my processor, as my hardware was getting hotter and the fans were spinning a bit loud before I installed it.
    Deja-Dup is a back up tool. My first Linux distro was Ubuntu and I’ve made my back-ups with it ever since. Since a year ago I use Clonezilla, but I also make a double back up with Deja-Dup.