• Newbie with a question on encrypted installation

Hi everyone, Antergos and general Linux newbie here.

Currently tinkering with Antergos on VM and planning to do a real install on my laptop in the near future.

During installing on VM, I’ve noticed that Antergos allows encryption of the hard drive when installing. I was interested in the feature and did a bit of searching and found that encryption could be done on different folders (is that the correct term?), such as /root and /home.

As a complete noob I have no idea what the difference is between the two.

Say in the future I plan to install Antergos completely on my laptop (i.e. no Windows, no dual boot) and I want to encrypt my entire hard drive, what should I be doing? I generally just want the drive to be encrypted so that no one can access it without my password, even when I lose the laptop.

Thanks

• @wackyquack If you have a hard drive you can easily choose for an encrypted setup during the Antergos installation, this is done with LUKS. Every boot, you will be asked to enter that passphrase. Your entire drive will be encrypted. there is no easy home folder encryption option, like with Ubuntu. You can undoubtedly set that up later after the installation, but Cnchi doesn’t offer that option now.

If you have an SSD, there’s a chance it offers built-in drive encryption. You have to set that up in your BIOS.

Be aware that losing your passphrase, you will not be able to access your OS anymore in the first case, in the second case your drive will become useless. And there’s also a performance penalty enabling full drive encryption.

You should learn how to encrypt your home folder post-install, that’s sufficient in a lot of cases because that’s where all your sensitive stuff mostly is on a desktop computer.