• Is there an overhead having two windows managers ?

Hi, I’m new to Antergos switched because netbook Atom processor & 2 GIG RAM. I installed Antergos with XFCE and since installed LXDE. Is there an overhead having the choice of interface ? Would performance improve if I reinstall with openbox then apply LXDE ?

Thanks
    Gosman

• @Gosman You mean desktop environments instead of window managers? As far as I know it only takes up space on your drive, not influence the performance of your computer. You only run one at a time, so the answer for what I know is no.

Antergos & Windows 7 Pro | Asrock x370 K4 - Ryzen 1600 - GTX 950 (replace with Radeon 570/580/Vega) - 16GB DDR4 2400 - Samsung 960 pro 512GB (Windows) + Samsung 850 EVO 256 GB (Antergos) + 2x 2TB HGST HDD + more storage - RM550x Gold PSU

• @Gosman said in Is there an overhead having two windows managers ?:

Hi, I’m new to Antergos switched because netbook Atom processor & 2 GIG RAM. I installed Antergos with XFCE and since installed LXDE. Is there an overhead having the choice of interface ?

As @EarthMind says, simply no since you can only run one at a time.

Would performance improve if I reinstall with openbox then apply LXDE ?

No, but it would be a cleaner install. After some time, running different DEs under same account will eventually corrupt your system.

• After some time, running different DEs under same account will eventually corrupt your system.

I haven’t seen this happening. I have Xfce, Openbox, and LXDE installed in Arch. Seems fine having all three available, no performance issues.

• @MALsPa said in Is there an overhead having two windows managers ?:

After some time, running different DEs under same account will eventually corrupt your system.

I haven’t seen this happening. I have Xfce, Openbox, and LXDE installed in Arch. Seems fine having all three available, no performance issues.

I agree, also have multiple DEs for almost a year now, everything is fine :p