• Is there an overhead having two windows managers ?

Hi, I’m new to Antergos switched because netbook Atom processor & 2 GIG RAM. I installed Antergos with XFCE and since installed LXDE. Is there an overhead having the choice of interface ? Would performance improve if I reinstall with openbox then apply LXDE ?

Thanks
    Gosman

• @Gosman You mean desktop environments instead of window managers? As far as I know it only takes up space on your drive, not influence the performance of your computer. You only run one at a time, so the answer for what I know is no.

• @Gosman said in Is there an overhead having two windows managers ?:

Hi, I’m new to Antergos switched because netbook Atom processor & 2 GIG RAM. I installed Antergos with XFCE and since installed LXDE. Is there an overhead having the choice of interface ?

As @EarthMind says, simply no since you can only run one at a time.

Would performance improve if I reinstall with openbox then apply LXDE ?

No, but it would be a cleaner install. After some time, running different DEs under same account will eventually corrupt your system.

• After some time, running different DEs under same account will eventually corrupt your system.

I haven’t seen this happening. I have Xfce, Openbox, and LXDE installed in Arch. Seems fine having all three available, no performance issues.

• @MALsPa said in Is there an overhead having two windows managers ?:

After some time, running different DEs under same account will eventually corrupt your system.

I haven’t seen this happening. I have Xfce, Openbox, and LXDE installed in Arch. Seems fine having all three available, no performance issues.

I agree, also have multiple DEs for almost a year now, everything is fine 😛

I was trying to avoid posting this, but YES it is possible to run multiple DEs, but on different ttys, and once again YES it will consume a lot of cpu. I did it once for fun, but i see no purpose doing that.