• Installing over Wifi

Hi all, first time poster here.

I’m looking to purchase a Lenovo T470 and do a full Linux install, since I want to switch away from Windows. I’ve played around with Antergos GNOME in VM and decided that this would be my distro of choice. I’m still quite new to Linux (only started messing with different distros in the last two months, always been a Windows guy previously) so I hope you guys may forgive me for asking some stupid questions. I want to make sure I understand what I’m doing before I actually go ahead with the installation.

1. The Lenovo T470 I’m purchasing will come with Intel wireless adapter 8265. I’ve done some digging on Google and it seems for any kernel under 4.6 the corresponding driver will be absent; therefore any chance of installing over WiFi will be gone if this kernel is used. When I install using live session, what kernel will the live session use?

2. I have yet to attempt installing Antergos on any real hardware; so far my experiences are limited to VM. When I was installing Antergos on the VM using live session however, I could not find any indication of enabling/detecting WiFi. I clicked on the wired connection icon but I could not find any WiFI-related settings. Even after installing I could not find anything related. Where do I go when in live session to enable WiFi scanning and connection to proceed with installation?

That’s all the questions I have for now, any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

• @bitglass , welcome. Thinkpads are considered amongst the most linux-friendly laptops. You ve done your research, gave you checked this out?
    https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php

@bitglass said

could not find any indication of enabling/detecting WiFi. I clicked on the wired connection

I guess you were wired? If so, unplug it.Cnchi (the installer) gives you a pop up msg that you need an Internet connection and you should get to Wifi by just clicking in the corresponding area.

@bitglass said :