• Lightdm + lightlocker under Gnome research for a working solution

I’m still thinking about it. For now, It’s hard to get started at this time of the year (mid summer). If I decide to start deving a DE from scratch, it will be a little bit later in the year. October or November seems to be a more suitable time for me.

Also, I rally don’t want to give you false hopes guys! The chance I come to develop something good are very light! Plus, it’s going to be a very long process. Even if I start today and work on it every day, I can’t see how I can deliver something nice and reliable inside of a year or two. I have so much to learn! I’m a web developer doing good with high level language. I have no experience with C, C++, Python and I’m still new to linux. I gonna have to learn how to work with Wayland as well. Wayland documentations and tutorial seems impossible to find.

For now, It’s more like a dream than a reality. I can’t promisse anything. Let wait and see 🙂

• Been away for a while and I am really glad to see that more criticism is spread over the Gnome dev s attitude. As to me, you know:the farther away from Gnome and GTK 3 , the better.; I m quite happy with Plasma (so far).
    As a word of advice: To keep yourselves trouble-free avoid any DEs dependent on each GTK 3 upgrades. Cinnarch (pre-Antergos) knows this and I wonder why the Antergos devs got rid of the old problem (Cinnamon unable to stay in tune with Gnome upgrades) replacing it with the present one. -:)
    Some good news. Budgie is adopting QT. Not adopting KDE libraries or plasma, though. Just degnomising. Starting from Budgie 11.
    https://budgie-desktop.org/2017/01/25/kicking-off-budgie-11/

• Budgie appeal me a lot! It just feel a little bit to unripe for my taste, but I can see all the potential! I have great respect for what Solus team are doing.

• @iSpeakVeryWell said in Lightdm + lightlocker under Gnome research for a working solution:

For now, It’s more like a dream than a reality.