• How to add a new user without the new user being empty ?

Hello !
    I’m new to linux and antergos, but i have a problem. Like i said in the title, how can i add an user without it being empty ?
    by empty, i mean that there’s no program, not even the start menu on the desktop, only 2 folders and the trash.
    If it can help, here’s how i’ve created my new user : sudo useradd -m username .
    So, if someone can help me and explain to me how to create correctly a new user, it would help me a lot !

• Hi!

Are you using Gnome?

• If so, simply press the Super key (aka. the Windows key) and type in “Settings”.
    • From there, click on “Users”
    • At the top right corner, there should be a button that is titled “Unlock” simply press it to, well, unlock your user settings for editing.
    • Where it formerly said “Unlock” it should now say “Add User…” Choose this option add a user.

Hope this helps and welcome to Antergos🙂

• useradd -m -G wheel -s /bin/bash USERNAME
    passwd USERNAME

If you prefere to do it in a terminal way ;)

• @A-User @joekamprad Thanks for helping me, but since i’m running antergos with mate, i can’t do it this way, and even with the terminal, the new user is empty. :’)

• Don’t know about Mate…

Sorry, I wish I could help more.

• The commands i give work without any DE also this is Systemwide… you may need to reboot

• @Kayase said

by empty, i mean that there’s no program, not even the start menu on the desktop, only 2 folders and the trash.

Sorry to ask but I didn t quite understand it. You mean you have no taskbar in your system?
    If so, such behavor has been reported before. Can tou clarify it please?
    Welcome to Antergos

• @anarch I have a taskbar, but instead of being at the bottom, it’s on top, and the only thing in it is the date and the time.