• Results of failed installations

Right off, I want to make it clear I am not trying to spit blood at anyone. I really like the philosophy behind Antergos and I am wanting to use it on all of my machines. I am pretty frustrated at the moment, but I am not ready to give up, so please do not assume I am angry with anyone or anything.

If only it will allow me to do that…

To be sure, I am not a Linux guru, but I have been using various Linux distros for the last 7 years. Although this is my first attempt at using anything based on Arch. I’ve installed and used distros like Linux Mint, Linux Mint Debian Edition, Debian Sid, Debian Testing, Debian Stable, Fedora, openSUSE, PCLinuxOS, Ubuntu, Kubuntu, SimplyMEPIS, Mandriva, Tanglu and SolusOS. Yes, I’ve distro-hopped a lot, and have never really found anything other than Mint or SolusOS that would really keep me grounded. I like running Cinnamon, so I’ve never been far away from Mint. I was prepared to try Cinnarch, last year, but that was about the time you were abandoning Cinnamon, so I took a pass. Until a couple weeks ago, when I decided it was time to move to Antergos.

But trying to do that has been obstacles, piled atop frustration, piled atop aggravation, piled atop mystery.

I have an old Dell XPS410 that I use as a test machine, to see if a distro will suit me. It was running Linux Mint Debian Edition. I installed 32 bit Antergos/Cinnamon and was really impressed with everything I saw. Someone really needs congratulations for Cnchi, because it is clean and works a treat. After I installed Antergos, I could see it was worthy of becoming my distro of choice, until I ran into my first snag. I was unable to install Shutter, which is a must-have tool for me. I have a couple of machines where Shutter is never closed, because I use it that much.