• Windows boot entry disappeared after Antergos installation (Dual Boot)

Good morning guys,

I have the following issue:

i had a working dual boot system with Windows 10 64bit and Ubuntu 16.04 LTS. However I wanted to switch over to an Arch based system and Antergos seemed to be a very pleasant choice. After the Installation I’m not able to boot into my Windows partition anymore, I even can’t see the Windows boot entry in Grub anymore. I am also very new in the Linux world, that was a reason for me to choose Antergos, because it ships with an graphical installer.

It looks like i have overwritten the windows boot loader section. Is there a way to fix this?

Here is the output of # fdisk -l /dev/sda:

0_1486369031387_DeepinScreenshot20170206091654.png

I hope someone can help me with this issue.

Best regards,

Rob

• try first:

sudo os-prober

• Hey Joe,

thanks for your reply, but sadly, sudo os-prober doesn’t fix it.

There is still no entry in the grub.cfg file. Maybe the partitioning table helps for the troubleshoot:

0_1486377359953_DeepinScreenshot20170206113354.png

• What is the output of:

sudo os-prober

It is not the fix, it only shows info…

• Sorry, my fault.

There is no output of the command.

• Usually Windows entry will be added automaticly… But as os-prober does not find your Windows system…
    I never install to a efi boot system…

You can get more info here: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/GRUB#Windows_installed_in_UEFI-GPT_Mode_menu_entry

• This topic is relevant to my interests. I have a similar setup on one of my laptops. It dualboots Elementary OS Loki(based on Ubuntu 16.04) and Win7 and I’m considering replacing eOS with Antergos instead.

I hope someone helps you out OP then maybe I’ll be able to learn from it and do my installation without a problem.

• https://forum.antergos.com/topic/5767/second-installation-on-other-partition-kernel-not-loaded

Is interesting on your problems…