• Need help getting Nvidia 970m graphics installed

I very much would like to switch permanently to Linux away from Windows. I am not foreign to it but not advanced i would say intermediate user. I have had some experience with it and work in IT so have touched it in servers. I have taken some classes and had in the past messed with some other distros.

My issue is with the driver/kernel I think. I have checked every article and tried to follow what they say to do on the wiki and cannot get my Nvidia drivers installed no matter what I do. Bumblebee has not been updated it seems to support it. I have successfully installed from the live full iso but when rebooting for the first time always get either a black or white screen. I can bypass this by blacklisting the nouveau driver but when I attempt to do any nvidia driver installs and remove the nouveau everything just goes downhill. I attempted to follow the Nvidia Wiki for optimus card modifying the X config but was still unsuccessful. I know that people have this combo of intel/gtx 970m working with antergos but cannot figure out myself how to get it. I would appreciate help if someone could with getting me going. I have successfully gotten Linux Mint 18 up and running with the latest 4.4 kernel and NVIDIA/Intel drivers and it is working flawlessly on Cinnamon. I just would prefer Arch.

• @mikeew83 said in Need help getting Nvidia 970m graphics installed:

…I have checked every article…

Including this one?

• Yes I tried the Bumblebee install and the straight Nvidia and the nouveau and none work all result in a black screen. I can ctrl alt f2 and terminal. I have tried installing with the proprietary drivers selected and not selected and have tried pretty much all Wiki articles. I have seen other posts with people with similar issue with same card 970m and they have resolved issue but none have stated how they resolved.