• Praise, and a couple of suggestions,

Hello!
    I installed Antergos last night, having heard of the project in the last few months. I am a long time Arch user, and I wanted to see what was the buzz all about. Turns out, there’s some really great things!

When they say for everyone, they mean it. The installer is a work of art. It’s simple, explains very well all the aspects, and it is gorgeous! The default user experience so far has been tremendous, and I really think I have found my new “new to linux? check out this distro” go to distribution.

A couple of things jumped at me though. The first one is a concern, the second one is nitpicky at best 🙂

I saw that Antergos gives the option to enable by default access to the AUR, which isn’t a bad idea in itself, but since using the AUR as a complete noob can be a bit dangerous, might it not be a good idea to explain better the AUR, the dangers and awesomeness? I feel like it should be it’s own step, with warnings and a proper introduction. Because if you are new to the whole process, it can be a bit daunting.
    Also, Yaourt by default isn’t the most secure AUR helper. Most of the AUR is fine, but I worry that installing by default a program that can execute malicious code without the user’s knowledge is a bit strange. Why not use another helper that doesn’t source the PKGBUILD before showing it?

And, for the nitpicking, wouldn’t it be better to have a dedicated IRC client ready to take the user to #antergos in case there’s need of help? While pidgin does a fine job when you know it, it presents itself as a messenger, and IRC is a bit buried in there.

What do you guys think?
    Also, I’m repeating myself, but great job on a great project 🙂

• @Synth_Synapses

might it not be a good idea to explain better the AUR, the dangers and awesomeness?