• Crash with every apparent Cinnamon update

I’ve only been using Antergos Cinnamon for a few months and really like how efficient it is. I was a software engineer a long time ago, so I’m no computer fool. Every now and then, maybe every three weeks or so, I will login and accept updates. After the updates complete, I will see a dialog telling me that Cinnamon has crashed and do I want to restart it. Regardless of whether I select Yes or No, the system will no longer boot into the desktop, even after a reboot.

I solve this problem by wiping the SSD and reinstalling a few days later with the latest release (I have other systems to use). At first, I thought the problem had to do with a wireless card (this is a desktop), so I removed it, but the problem happened again. A few days ago, I noticed that there were Cinnamon updates and then the system crashed, so I wonder if Cinnamon updates have always been the cause.

The hardware (Sandy Bridge processor and 6-series board) is likely not the problem because it has a swap-rack which I use with many different OS: W-7, Fedora, and other Linux distributions. RAID is not used in the PC.

• @pccobbler said

Every now and then, maybe every three weeks or so, I will login and accept updates.

For a rolling release distro this sounds too long. Arch gets updates/upgrades daily. Where “daily” means twice, three times or even more, sometimes. There are also newer updates fixing older ones issues. So, loging in and updating after about a month is prone to occasional trouble.
    A good practice is updating AT LEAST once week. Personally, I follow the good old saing “first thing in the morning and lastt at night”.
    As a final word: Keep the system updated as often as needed and monitor its behavor to find out if the problem persists.
    Cheers

1.Antergos Linux KDE plasma / Gnome 2.Ubuntu 17.10 64bit Unity
    Intel Core2 Duo CPU P8400 2.26GHz‖ RAM 3908 MiB ‖ Dell Inc. 0F328M - Dell Inc. Latitude E6500