• Install ISO (Minimal) does not work with ATI Radeon 2600

I would like to use my old iMac Mid 2007 with antergos. I am running antergos on 3 other machines and this is the first one that gives me headaches. The install ISO does not work, because X fails to start. As far as I have understood other answers on the internet, the very old graphic card (ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro) is causing the problem. Because I have no knowledge about the inner workings of current Linux distributions and the way X works, I am lost.

I tried other Arch based distros, but they have the same problem. Only a Debian based distro (Mint) manages to start a live environment. I have no idea what Mint does different (using a plain old generic VGA driver without acceleration?), but it works right out of the box.

Is there a way (maybe some magical boot parameters) to let antergos live cd (minimal or standard) start with at least a basic graphical environment that let me install the system?

• @steffen.eichenberg isnt there some alternative graphic options on the boot screen? i havent used them but thought i saw some graphic options.

• @megaman There are tree options that I see.

1. boot to install
    2. boot without graphical interface (fallback)
    3. boot NVidia (fallback)

these are not the exact phrases, but something along that line.

I tried to boot with every option. Option 1) and 2) have the same effect: antergos tries to configure/start X and fails. I did not expect that, especially with option 2). I tried several times (sometimes you THINK you selected option 2, but … just to be sure 🙂 ). Option 3) results in a black screen.

In the meantime, I tried the full ISO. The logs in the console are different; I do not see any X specific details. Just a message about antergos trying to start the graphical interface and then it seems to hang.