• Switching Desktops questions

Hi. I installed Antergos recently, and of course love it so far.

I installed with the choice of Cinnamon, but would like to try other desktops. I imagine that it could be as easy as selecting them from the display manager, but am curious about the installation of a particular desktop, and how it may affect my installation. I have yet to install any deepin packages. I thought I would check here first just in case there may be issues. I hope this is the proper forum.

Does my installing of it negatively affect my current set up in any ways? By that, I mean does it damage my Cinnamon set up?

I am kind of new at experimenting with desktops, so I hope you can forgive what might be a dumb question. I am just paranoid a tiny bit.

• I’d say only one thing. Do not mix different DEs in one partition. Sooner or later it will lead you into a trouble.

Create as many 20G partitions as you need. Install all DEs you’re interested in into separate partitions.

Follow a simple rule: one partition - one DE.

• @just said in Switching Desktops questions:

I’d say only one thing. Do not mix different DEs in one partition. Sooner or later it will lead you into a trouble.

Create as many 20G partitions as you need. Install all DEs you’re interested in into separate partitions.

Follow a simple rule: one partition - one DE.

Please forgive my ignorance. Are you suggesting I have multiple installations of Antergos, one per DE?

• @schick said in Switching Desktops questions:

…Are you suggesting I have multiple installations of Antergos, one per DE?

Yes, exactly.

• why not use virtualbox? that will keep your main desktop nice and clean :+1:

• @megaman said in Switching Desktops questions:

why not use virtualbox? that will keep your main desktop nice and clean :+1:

Very interesting idea. I would never have thought of that. worth a try.