• Nautilus freeze when trying to change icon

Hello!

I’m very new to Antergos and Gnome, some months ago I switched from Windows to Linux Mint Cinnamon then openSuse KDE.
    I managed to configure the GNOME Desktop to my needs, the only thing I would like to do is to change the folder icons. Moka is just fine for application icons, but only the folders I would like to have in Adwaita style.
    I tried to do this in nautilus - right click on a folder then on the icon, the file chooser opens up and freezes. For now I just played around with the icon themes themselves, but I would liketo have nautilus working correct. Does anyone know about this issue? Please let me know if you need further details and how to get them, since I don’t know how to get log files and stuff…

• @Brown said in Nautilus freeze when trying to change icon:

…I tried to do this in nautilus - right click on a folder then on the icon, the file chooser opens up and freezes.a

Hmm. Didn’t notice it earlier, but actually Nautilus freezes on File Chooser dialog. The rest of the system continues to work normally. Moreover, it happens not only in Arch, but also in other distros with Gnome 3.20. For example, in Tumbleweed.

I’m unable to use Nautilus (and hate it). Instead, I’m using Nemo as the default file manager in Gnome. Nemo has no such problems, and permits to choose and assign any icon to any folder or item.

Sorry, can’t help you with Nautilus.

• Hmmmm, I don’t like nemo, that much. It’s just a few weeks that I got familiar with nautilus and now I like it’s clean and simple look…
    I will try nemo or some other file manager at least for such actions like changing icons…

Anyways thank you for answering, at least I now that there is nothing wrong with my installation…

• Is there an easy way to revert the changes made with nemo? Just played around to test and screwd it. In my icon theme folder everything is ok, but in nemo and nautilus icons are messed up, some kind of cache file?