• My Laptop Unlearned Suspend? i.e. Suspend leads directly to failing

Hey everyone!

I’m brand new to Antergos and just came through the Archway… do people say that? I’ve been a Linux user for a long time—knowing enough about the internet and just enough about Linux to get through most all of my problems. This time I’m stumped…

I’ve done my best to read through the wiki and understand the power management systems. A lot of it is still pretty hazy, but I’m starting to get the hang of it, maybe?

Here’s my problem: I think my Dell 9350 (Kernel 4.4.5-1, Skylake, Intel HD520 & upgraded Intel 7265 wireless card) has unlearned how to go to sleep. What I mean is, whenever a request to sleep/suspend is made, the system simply crashes. It doesn’t power off, it just stops. When I reopen the lid (in the case where I initiate suspend by closing the lid) the computer boots up.

Here’s the stuff I’ve tried so far:

A. Control case — everything as inert as possible.

1. I commented out everything in /etc/systemd/system.conf
    2. I went through the GUI power management tools and turned everything to as unresponsive as possible: do nothing when power button is pressed, etc…
    3. I opened dconf editor and adjusted the following options:
      org.cinnamon.screensaver.idle-lock-enabled = 0. I thought I was having trouble with the lock screen—cinnamon-screensaver
      org.cinnamon.session.screensaver-uses-logind = 0
      org.cinnamon.session.session-manager-uses-logind = 0
      org.cinnamon.session.settings-daemon-uses-logind = 0
      org.cinnamon.settings-daemon.plugins.power.button-* = blank
      org.cinnamon.settings-daemon.plugins.lid-close-* = blank
      org.cinnamon.settings-daemon.plugins.lock-on-suspend = 0

Then nothing happens! Great. I can push the power button; I can close and open the lid.

B. Test case — turn back on the lid close suspend:

1. org.cinnamon.settings-daemon.plugins.power.lid-close-* = suspend