• Like 0

Screen tearing, pages not closing well.

I am new to Antergos. Websites don’t close as they should, the window flickers and is stuck. I try every combination I can think of to close it, I think it es closed but for some blasted reason, it does not want to accept it. Out of sheer desperation I found by ‘right clicking,’numerous times I could get the wallpaper up.

Th wall paper does not fill the screen , there being a slit down the left side. Pages tear, if that is the right nomenclature, when I scroll up or down on page. Small window containing information on what I should or should not do, more times then naught don’t appear.

I’d like to give Antergos a fair try, but it is hard when it seems to be out to frustrate me. I am looking for help in making my way around this Distro.

Humboldt

• Like 0

@humboldt are your drivers updated? o try to switch to a later kernel. Maybe the kernel doesn’t like your graphics card

• Like 0

I wondered about the the drivers but could not figure out where to check up on them. My PC is an HP Pavilion with an AMD E1-2500 Accelerated Processor, and a AMD Radeon HD 8240 Graphic. I went to ‘Add & Remove Software”, to see whether I could install up to date drivers? I was looking for something along the ‘ati’ line.

Kernel at 4.4.5-1, I think that is fairly up to date. I installed:

“nvidia 361.28-4”

Nvidia Drivers for Linux.

I failed to install the “Nvidia 304.xxx” series and the “Nvidia 340” ones. I am gong to install:

“nvidia-340xx”, and its dependecies. I would seem that I can not go back to those thrilling ‘drivers’ of yester-year.

• Like 0

Thanks for the links. I will read them carefully, and if I have any questions before I do anything I will ask,

• Like 0

Nvidia is not = ATI Radeon
    If you have successfully installed ATI and are still having problems the below may apply, if not stop reading :P