• Grub error: no such device after install

I installed Antergos on my Dell XPS 13, and after rebooting, the usual “Welcome to GRUB!” shows up, followed by an error - no such device: [a5cc04fd…]. Secure boot is turned off, booting is set to legacy only, and RAID is turned off in the BIOS

Running ls in grub rescue prints (hd0).

I have the default /boot, /, and swap partitions created by the installer (from lsblk -f):
    /dev/nvme0n1p1 AntergosBoot a5cc04fd…
    /dev/nvme0n1p2 AntergosRoot 319593a9…
    /dev/nvme0n1p5 AntergosSwap c9ef4943…

So how come GRUB can’t find the boot partition on the SSD?

• Have you tried to rerun grub setup?
    Boot from the iso, open a terminal and run this commands:

sudo mount /dev/nvme0n1p2 /mnt
    sudo mount /dev/nvme0n1p1 /mnt/boot
    sudo arch-chroot /mnt
    sudo grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

When you run grub-mkconfig check that everything is ok.

P.S. I have no experience whatsoever with /nvme devices, but I think it should work the same way…

• Thanks for the help :)

grub-mkconfig does error, mostly with the message “ERROR: mkdir /var/lock/dmraid”, and then that it can’t connect to /run/lvm/lvmetad.socket. The only other thing that looks wrong is grub-probe errors because it cannot find a GRUB drive for /dev/sda1, but that is the USB device I’m running the live image from. Does it just assume that /dev/sda1 is the boot partition (unfortunately you can’t specify a disk here)?

• @mcnutty You can ignore those dmraid/lvm errors.

About /dev/sda1, that’s a problem, it should not install there. Maybe Cnchi installed your grub in /dev/sda?

I’d try to reinstall grub in /dev/nvme0n1 this way:

sudo mount /dev/nvme0n1p2 /mnt
    sudo mount /dev/nvme0n1p1 /mnt/boot
    sudo arch-chroot /mnt
    sudo grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
    sudo grub-install /dev/nvme0n1

• Reinstalling grub as above doesn’t change the error (and completes with no errors).

• OK.