• Antergos as opposed to Arch as first experience really that bad?

Hello I’m relatively new to Antergos but I must admit I find it to be very interesting and from my small time using I loved it. I’m somewhat new to Linux I wouldn’t exactly say I’m completely green but I’m not a seasoned Linux Master. I’ve hear lots of debates and read many forums that insist if you really want to know Linux use Arch and that until you master installing Arch any of the other forks aren’t for you. Now I can respect that opinion but I prefer Antergos for it’s simplicity and functionality and it’s ease of installation. My question is this: if I skip Arch and go straight to Antergos am I really crippling myself and going to be unable to maintain my system? Most people on the other forums I’ve been on state that if you can’t master Arch installation then any other version you use will be unmanageable by the user. Now I’m not trying to start a giant comment war in regard to whether or not Arch is better than Antergos. I’m sure their both great systems in their own way I love Antergos and haven’t played with Arch so I can’t say. I’m simply wondering if I’m really going to be able effectively handle Antergos since I’m not what you would call a Linux Master or a seasoned Arch user. Thanks in advance for your thoughts and replies.

• @chris.bilconish24
    If you really want to know linux you can install linux from scratch. Gentoo’s less work than lfs but will still likely teach you more about how linux works than Arch.

If you have your important data regularly backed up and things become unmaintainable, or break, just reinstall. The level of expertise and knowledge required to keep an install running like clockwork indefinitely will likely depend upon the complexity of the setup.

Might be worth trying out an Arch install in a VM to get an idea of the nuts and bolts.