• How to install package from AUR

Hi,
    I have enabled AUR but am unable to install from there. Here is an example:

sudo pacman -Syu stapler

Now, stapler exists in the AUR repo but it says that it can not be found.

Sorry, I am new to Arch, but very well-versed with dnf/yum on Fedora/Redhat/CentOS and apt in Debian so I was expecting to be able to just install from those repos. Are similar options possible in Arch?

Thanks again!

• @aarem pacman works with standard Arch repos only. AUR is not a part of them. pacman is not as permissive as yum/dnf in fedora, or apt in debian. pacman will never install any package from AUR.

Use yaourt instead of pacman to install a package from AUR

$ yaourt stapler
    1 aur/stapler 0.4-3 (75)
        A small utility making use of the pypdf library to provide a (somewhat) lighter alternative to pdftk
    2 aur/stapler-git 0.3.2.r11.gdc496c5-1 (95)
        Manipulate PDF documents from the command line
    ==> Enter n° of packages to be installed (ex: 1 2 3 or 1-3)
    ==> -------------------------------------------------------
    ==> 1
  • @just said:

@aarem pacman works with standard Arch repos only. AUR is not a part of them. pacman is not as permissive as yum/dnf in fedora, or apt in debian. pacman will never install any package from AUR.

Use yaourt instead of pacman to install a package from AUR

$ yaourt stapler
    1 aur/stapler 0.4-3 (75)
        A small utility making use of the pypdf library to provide a (somewhat) lighter alternative to pdftk
    2 aur/stapler-git 0.3.2.r11.gdc496c5-1 (95)
        Manipulate PDF documents from the command line
    ==> Enter n° of packages to be installed (ex: 1 2 3 or 1-3)
    ==> -------------------------------------------------------
    ==> 1

Thanks! I noticed that you did not use sudo there. Does that mean that ths package is installed somewhere else, or should we use sudo?

Many thanks again!

• @aarem said: