• Computer will not lock

I am somewhat new to the Linux scene and recently installed the GNOME version of Antergos (moving over from Ubuntu 15.04). Everything works fine, apart from the fact that the computer will not lock. Been looking around for a solution on the forums and somewhere is suggested to use ‘dm-tool lock’ in the terminal, but I am just given a blank, white screen with a cursor at really low resolution. I have exhausted my limited knowledge and now I am stuck.

I will be highly grateful if this could be fixed!

Edit: I removed ‘gnome-shell-extension-status-menu-buttons 0.2-1’ and installed ‘gnome-shell-extension-lockscreen-lightdm 1.0-4’ and now I can lock the computer, but I would still prefer to use the status menu if it can be fixed.

Edit 2: Problem is now solved; I used the method here as well as a few other things:

• ‘sudo pacman -Rcns lightdm’
    • ‘sudo pacman -S gdm’
    • ‘sudo systemctl -f enable gdm’
    • ‘sudo pacman -S light-locker’
    • ‘sudo pacman -S light-locker-settings’
    • restart computer
  • Well if you are willing to do a bit of work I have one solution.
    Install i3lock
    then
    create an
    .i3lock folder
    and put a ‘png’ image in there
    then
    rename it

lock_screen.png

then
    open(as root) with your text editor /usr/bin/xflock4
    and paste in this code

i3lock -i /home/yourusername/.i3/lock_screen.png

then
    go to Settings>keyboard>Application shortcuts
    and add
    xflock4
    I used the shortcut key as Super+L

That’s it.
    When you want to go back to your desktop key in your user password.
    A circle will appear saying Verifying
    Hope this helps.

• @herbie said:

open(as root) with your text editor /usr/bin/xflock4

Got up to this point, was displayed with an empty file. Checked if it actually exists - and it doesn’t.

@herbie said:

I used the shortcut key as Super+L