• Displaying blank screen with a cursor after successful installation

Hello All,

Last night, I have installed Antergos with Mate as DE.

Installation from Live USB took a very long time (about 3 hours). There we some glitches and I had to restart the system multiple time and let Cnchi update itself before installing again.

In the end, the installation was successful and I was asked to restart the system.

When I reboot, I get a grub menu with Antergos Linux option. However, when I choose the same, I am greeted with a blank screen with a cursor.

I have OpenSUSE and Elementary OS installed on other partitions on my DELL Inspiron 6400 Laptop and I am able to boot into these from the same GRUB menu without any issues.

Any help will be appreciated. I am new to Arch Linux.

Thanks in advance

• I have reinstalled with gnome as DE option. However, the ‘blank screen with cursor’ problem remains.
    Please help.

• Hi,

There must be some graphics problem. Some users have reported that using GDM instead of LightDM helps.
    When you reach the blank screen, go to a terminal (CTRL+ALT+F2) and try to enable GDM and disable lightdm:

sudo su
    pacman -Syu
    pacman -S gdm
    systemctl disable lightdm
    systemctl stop lightdm
    systemctl enable gdm
    systemctl start gdm

Tell us if this helps.

• @srinivas-challa

i have same issue after install nvidia driver, take a look at this forum
    dunno if this can solve your problem, :D sorry, i just try to help :)

http://forum.antergos.com/topic/2679/antergos-2015-08-18/27

• @karasu
    Thank you. After enabling gdm, I am able to get to the login screen.
    However, it is getting struck at the login screen. Although, I gave a correct password, the login screen is displayed again. This keeps repeating like a loop. I cannot get past the login screen.
    I know the password is correct because, when I ran the sudu su command from the terminal, it took the root password.