• Antergos on MacBook pro 8,1 external 500G drive and dual boot

I am an old true beginner and I have now 2 old pc-systems running Antergos. They were both too slow to run Windows 7 but now they run KDE-plasma pretty smooth!

I want to install Linux (Antergos) on my work computer, a MacBook Pro 8,1 (just pre-retina). I have made a fusion-drive on it and got rid of the internal dvd. I have all my music programs and music-files for work on it and I don´t want to break the fusion-drive (works very well) so I want to use an external 500G usb-disk. It is enough to be able to boot with “the option-key” option! Is that possible?
    I have been reading about installing on MacBook pro for a couple of days and the big problem there is dual-booting.
    I have installed rEFInd on the Mac side but the commands will not take. There is also a program for Mac called rEFIt but it will not install.

I hope someone has a little mercy with and old man.

• Hello again.
    I got a little desperate yesterday and reinstalled everything with rEFInd on both sides and now I can boot into arch!
    Sorry to bother but I had no idea that I was able to solve these kind of problems !
    Next thing to fix is wifi with bcm4331 rev2.

• Hello again.
    Now I have the BCM4331 rev2 wifi working! I have noticed that the biggest problem is to be able to choose the right information because there are many “home-made” guides and most oto f them are too old.
    Before someone try to follow a relevant guide one must have all the right software and commands installed.

• This is for the moderator.

I am sorry for wasting too much space here on this eminent forum!
    The only thing that is a small bother with the Ant-on-macbook-system is the trackpad. I have not been able to get it to work as well as on Mac OS X by far.
    If someone has it would be nice to hear how.

A couple of days later.