• Noob: What exactly separates Antergos from Arch?

Hi,

I am a uni student who is preparing to switch from Windows to Linux. I did plenty of research and decided the flavor I specifically wanted was Arch. Then I found Antergos, which appeared to have a cleaner UI than Arch.

That being said, I don’t quite understand what the underlying differences are between Antergos and Arch, and my searches on the internet have not yielded much. Only that you started as a cinnamon flavor of Arch, beyond that I don’t know what the differences are.

So I’m really asking for some simple, clear answers, to help me decide what the advantages of Antergos are.

1. How do the development goals of Antergos differ from Arch?

2. What are the visible, or sometimes invisible, usage differences between Arch and Antergos.

Anything else you think i should know before I make my decision?

Thanks,
    Armestam

EDIT: Also I’m looking for a stable version of Linux which will be around for a long time. Does that fact that Antergos gets updates from Arch mean it will have similar long term support?

• Hi,

I am a uni student who is preparing to switch from Windows to Linux. I did plenty of research and decided the flavor I specifically wanted was Arch. Then I found Antergos, which appeared to have a cleaner UI than Arch.

That being said, I don’t quite understand what the underlying differences are between Antergos and Arch, and my searches on the internet have not yielded much. Only that you started as a cinnamon flavor of Arch, beyond that I don’t know what the differences are.

So I’m really asking for some simple, clear answers, to help me decide what the advantages of Antergos are.

1. How do the development goals of Antergos differ from Arch?

2. What are the visible, or sometimes invisible, usage differences between Arch and Antergos.

Anything else you think i should know before I make my decision?

Thanks,
    Armestam