• A couple of issues after installation

Background: I am not new to linux however, I am new to arch/antergos. I had some problems with my ubuntu installation so I decided to check out something new. I am on a samsung laptop that has an i5 and a hybrid amd radeon hd 7550m GPU.

Issue 1: I had already installed fglrx in my ubuntu installation but, now i can’t find a proper tutorial on how to install the proprietary drivers on arch. I would appriciate it if someone posted a step by step tutorial.

Issue 2: My laptop fan spins at 80% to 100% all the time, and the CPU temps. are very high. I have installed i7z and thermald, but I don’t know what to do next.

Thanks in advanced for any response.

Edit: Ooh almost forgot; I want to install some light game sfrom steam, like portal, l4d2, or tf2.

• Hi, welcome to Antergos :smile:

To install the catalyst driver:

1. Add the following to the end of /etc/pacman.conf
    [catalyst]
    Server = http://catalyst.wirephire.com/repo/catalyst/$arch
    ## Mirrors, if the primary server does not work or is too slow:
    #Server = http://70.239.162.206/catalyst-mirror/repo/catalyst/$arch
    #Server = http://mirror.rts-informatique.fr/archlinux-catalyst/repo/catalyst/$arch
    #Server = http://mirror.hactar.bz/Vi0L0/catalyst/$arch

1. Run these commands:
    su
    pacman -Syyu
    # If pacman asks you about removing a package conflict, choose **YES**
    pacman -S catalyst-hook catalyst-utils-pxp
    mkinitcpio -p linux

1. The wiki has a lot of information regarding how to configure the driver here:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/AMD_Catalyst#Configuring_the_driver

For the fan issue try installing the samsung-tools package from the AUR. It should include a kernel module and some commandline tools to get your fans in order: yaourt -S samsung-tools

I hope it helps. Let me know how it goes. Cheers!