• GDM blank screen after updates and no command prompt

Hi everyone, i am having on my Toshiba Satellite with nvidia geforce 6150se nforce 430 graphic card and Antergos GNOME exactly the same blank screen problem described here: http://forum.antergos.com/topic/1897/blank-white-screen-after-update

The problem is, I cant manage to get a command line to retrieve the system logs or trying to work on gdm with the solution described above. Pressing CTRL ALT F2 makes nothing at all, the screen remains black, tough I can still reboot the system with CTRL ALT DEL.

Does anyone knows how could I solve this issue? I’m a newbie and my only idea was to format and install everything again from scratch, but that seems quite an unpleasant idea in this precise moment…

Thanks in advance for your comments

• By the way, I’ve already noticed that it isn’t anything related to the key “Fn” while trying to get F2…

• Hi,

Try replacing the quiet argument in the kernel boot command with the following (Press e when grub appears):

systemd.unit=multi-user.target

You should be able to log in. Only your logs from the previous boots will be helpful (because that’s when the error occurred) Let me know if you have any questions.

• @lots.0.logs Thanks for your suggestion! I’ve replaced the line “quiet” with “systemd.unit=multi-user.target”, but although now the boot process now shows more info than before, it ends up anyway in a blank screen :’(

• Hmmm…Are there any clues as to what the problem might be in the output that appears on the screen? Try emergency mode instead of multi-user: systemd.unit=emergency.target You won’t have network access but you will at least be able to access the logs from previous failed boot attempts like this (0 is the current boot, 1 is the last boot, 2 is the boot before last, etc):

journalctl -b -1

• @lots.0.logs said: