• Unable to connect to Wi-Fi on Surface Pro 2

Hi! I’m an Arch/Antergos newbie and I was trying to install the system on my Surface Pro 2. It has a Marvell 88W8797 wireless chipset. Everything in the OS works great, but there’s no working Bluetooth or Wi-Fi. Because of this (and because I can’t buy an USB-Ethernet adapter) I’m unable to install Antergos (or plain Arch Linux, for that matter) on the tablet.

The system comes with the driver [i:1b0sn9qw]usb8797_uapsta.bin[/i:1b0sn9qw] by default since a few ISOs ago. Nice. It does nothing at all. Right now (on this session at least), it seems that the OS detects the chipset as Bus 002 Device 008, ID 1286:2044, and the system loads the interface driver [i:1b0sn9qw]mwifiex_usb[/i:1b0sn9qw], but then the networking device does not appear with the command [i:1b0sn9qw]ip link[/i:1b0sn9qw], where there’s just a lo (loopback) device.

What can I do? Thanks in advance for your help :3

• Hi! I’m an Arch/Antergos newbie and I was trying to install the system on my Surface Pro 2. It has a Marvell 88W8797 wireless chipset. Everything in the OS works great, but there’s no working Bluetooth or Wi-Fi. Because of this (and because I can’t buy an USB-Ethernet adapter) I’m unable to install Antergos (or plain Arch Linux, for that matter) on the tablet.

The system comes with the driver [i:1b0sn9qw]usb8797_uapsta.bin[/i:1b0sn9qw] by default since a few ISOs ago. Nice. It does nothing at all. Right now (on this session at least), it seems that the OS detects the chipset as Bus 002 Device 008, ID 1286:2044, and the system loads the interface driver [i:1b0sn9qw]mwifiex_usb[/i:1b0sn9qw], but then the networking device does not appear with the command [i:1b0sn9qw]ip link[/i:1b0sn9qw], where there’s just a lo (loopback) device.

What can I do? Thanks in advance for your help :3

• Hi,

You can start by running the ‘dmesg’ command to see what the kernel is telling you. Look for any clues there.