• Not able to use AUR in PacmanXG

Hi,

I am relatively new to Antergos. I have been using PackmanXG for pacman installs but I’m not able to get it to work for AUR. I can search for applications but when I get to installing them nothing happens and there’s an X next to the application in the install history. Is it something I need to enable or configure to have PacmanXG work with AUR?

//Christian

• Hi,

I am relatively new to Antergos. I have been using PackmanXG for pacman installs but I’m not able to get it to work for AUR. I can search for applications but when I get to installing them nothing happens and there’s an X next to the application in the install history. Is it something I need to enable or configure to have PacmanXG work with AUR?

//Christian

• Hi,

Did you install with the AUR option on? If not, check that you have base-devel and yaourt installed.

Also, there was an update in pacman that broke using yaourt with su (switch user) so pacmanxg stopped working with AUR. I don’t know if this was fixed or it’s still an issue (sorry, I do not use pacmanxg).

Cheers!

• Hi,

Thanks! I think the the second option you mentioned is the correct one since I now see an error message for the failed install saying: ==> WARNING: makepkg dropped --asroot support, please run yaourt as a non-privileged user.

I guess I can’t use PacmanXG for the time being. What is the best GUI application for doing both pacman and AUR?

//Christian

• @“cdysthe”:2yfubo20 said:

please run yaourt as a non-privileged user.

I guess I can’t use PacmanXG for the time being. What is the best GUI application for doing both pacman and AUR?[/quote:2yfubo20]
    Οf course you can. Just enter PacmanXG as “current user”.
    ***For me, the best alternative is using this command in terminal, which takes care of almost everything (mirror & data basis sync, updates, upgrades)

yaourt -Syyua

1.Antergos Linux KDE plasma / Gnome 2.Ubuntu 17.10 64bit Unity