• LTS Kernel

I am new to Arch based systems and was just wondering, if I want to switch to the LTS Linux kernel as the default kernel how do I do that?

I found the following command in some article
    sudo pacman -S linux-lts
    sudo pacman install linux-lts-headers

Is this all it takes?

The standard kernel on Antergos works really well but I have really old hardware that runs well on the LTS kernel and don’t need the frequent updates from the standard Antergos or Arch version.

• @debiandonder
    I’m using grub-customizer for this. assuming you are using grub, it allows you to choose a kernel to boot as default. Was using LTS myself for the same reasons as you just named (running it on 7yr old laptop), however I still ran into issues (short freezes). I moved to zen kernel (package linux-zen), which is specially tweaked for performance and it seems to work even better than LTS and no more freezes, which were common both to latest kernel and LTS.

You can find grub-customizer in the community repos, so it’s available for install through pacman

Here’s a link to the package in case you are curious https://www.archlinux.org/packages/community/x86_64/grub-customizer/

If you want to know which kernel you are currently running uname -a will tell you that.

• @debiandonder If you installed the lts kernel when you installed Antergos it will be in grub under advanced. You just go into advanced and select lts kernel and it boots into it otherwise it boots to the latest kernel installed. If you did not install the lts kernel when you first installed Antergos then yes you can install it via pacman. So both kernels would be installed. You just choose which one you want to boot to. Also as Antergos is a rolling release it updates the kernels that are installed so the lts also gets updated as well as the latest kernel.