• pamac PGP fails in package upgrades

Folks,

Because I really want a rolling linux, I’ve been playing with Antergos for a couple of years with varying degrees of success. Without going into a detailed pity-me list, a lot of my problems seem to be based on this one circumstance: I will from time to time wait several weeks between uses of the system Of course, every time I fire it up there are a potfull of updates waiting for me.

And every time I try to process the 100+ package updates something bad happens. Not the dependency hell I was sort of expecting (that’s been mostly absent), but consistent PGP key problems. They first came when I tried to update a system that was originally 17.9 to the then-current version (18.3, I think), then from a few updates of that to 18.9, then just now when I went from that to yesterday’s version (19.4?).

What happens is that the pamac gets as far as downloading the changed packages (242 last time), then cries foul and dies. It finds that there are PGP key mismatches on every package.

I have spent a good deal of time chasing solutions in the forum. This thread seems to be the most inclusive in terms of things to try – but no help to me.

But sudo pacman -Su worked. All packages downloaded and installed with no problems.

Today pamac said I had 14 packages waiting for me to upgrade. Again they all downloaded, then all failed to install. Here’s a snip from the log:

Downloading linux-headers (5.0.13.arch1-1-x86_64)...
    Checking keyring...
    Checking integrity...
    Error: iana-etc: signature from "Gaetan Bisson <[email protected]>" is invalid
    Error: glib2: signature from "Jan Alexander Steffens (heftig) <[email protected]>" is invalid
    Error: v4l-utils: signature from "Jelle van der Waa <[email protected]>" is invalid

and so forth for the rest of the packages, then:

Failed to commit transaction:
    invalid or corrupted package (PGP signature):