• Tool to back up the root partition

On my XP and Linux Mint Debian machines I create once in while images of the system partition (Windows) and root partition (Linux Mint Debian). Currently I am installing my future workhorse PC with Antergos. As I am an newbie I want to create an root image after each important installation step. Whenever I mess up the next step I can go back to last image saved.

Sofar I always used Acronis and it worked very fine. But Acronis doesn’t work on my Antergos machine.
    What happened is that, in the list of drives to be backed up, I can see my external HDD to which I want to write the image. However this HDD cannot be seen when I need to select a drive to store the image of the root-drive. Actually no partition is to be seen at all for selection of the place to write the image to. Can this be related to the Antergos?

Beside the above question my main question is if there is tool - ideally Linux based - which can be used to create images of the root partition and re-install this image when needed?

Thanks in advance for your hints!

• On my XP and Linux Mint Debian machines I create once in while images of the system partition (Windows) and root partition (Linux Mint Debian). Currently I am installing my future workhorse PC with Antergos. As I am an newbie I want to create an root image after each important installation step. Whenever I mess up the next step I can go back to last image saved.

Sofar I always used Acronis and it worked very fine. But Acronis doesn’t work on my Antergos machine.
    What happened is that, in the list of drives to be backed up, I can see my external HDD to which I want to write the image. However this HDD cannot be seen when I need to select a drive to store the image of the root-drive. Actually no partition is to be seen at all for selection of the place to write the image to. Can this be related to the Antergos?