• If Antergos Dies Off

Hey guys,

I’ve been using Linux for a few months now and I’ve always been really curious about arch but due to how you need to set it up, I never got anywhere with it. So I’m really glad I found Antergos but there’s one thing that I can’t get out of my head and I was hoping someone could answer my (either remarkably clever, or ridiculously stupid) question.

If for some reason the Antergos project were to die off, since it’s essentially just arch + a DE would I still be able to receive updates & download new software or would I need to get a whole new distro?

I’m curious because I’m coming from using well known and long lived distro’s like ubuntu, mint, debian, etc. And from what small research I’ve done shows that Antergos is only a little over a year old.

• Hey guys,

I’ve been using Linux for a few months now and I’ve always been really curious about arch but due to how you need to set it up, I never got anywhere with it. So I’m really glad I found Antergos but there’s one thing that I can’t get out of my head and I was hoping someone could answer my (either remarkably clever, or ridiculously stupid) question.

If for some reason the Antergos project were to die off, since it’s essentially just arch + a DE would I still be able to receive updates & download new software or would I need to get a whole new distro?

I’m curious because I’m coming from using well known and long lived distro’s like ubuntu, mint, debian, etc. And from what small research I’ve done shows that Antergos is only a little over a year old.

• I suppose you could just continue using the official ARCH repositories and keep on running …

Cheers!

Dell Latitude E6230 with Intel i7, 8GB RAM, 500 GB SSD
    dual boot: Antergos and Debian Stretch both 64bit and running gnome-shell
    surviving in a Windows world with VMware WS and Codeweavers Crossover

• i dont see why not. should work fine but i dont see antergos going anywhere.