• Desktop and Caja not working anymore

@joekamprad said in Desktop and Caja not working anymore:

@zoli62 said in Desktop and Caja not working anymore:

In any case, the workaround mentioned earlier in this thread is working for this Mate-related issue.

it is only a workaround to get caja starting again, but not a solution for the issue itself ;)

It is unfortunate that there is still no solution to this problem.

• I have another PC with Antergos installed on it that I was using to troubleshoot a different bug. On that one, I commented the Antergos repository lines out of /etc/pacman.conf and then updated with sudo pacman -Syyuu and found the workaround was no longer needed. As I’m not an expert, I don’t know what other effects this may have on my main PC though so I haven’t tried it here yet.

• @retronostalgia I also have a test system for exactly these purposes, so I’ll try out what happens to Caja after the update without using the workaround.

• @retronostalgia does it show any error/warnings?

• @joekamprad I didn’t see any warnings but didn’t try launching caja from the console, so I’m not sure. I can’t check anymore as I’ve since installed Ubuntu MATE on that test PC.

I would not recommend doing what I did as a permanent solution as I’m not experienced enough to know if it will cause any hidden problems. However, the info may be useful for anyone working on a real fix.

• Slightly off-topic but still related: seems that some Antergos packages that override upstream packages are not adequately updated.
    For example, packages atril, curl, lightdm-webkit2-greeter, mate-icon-theme, broadcom-wl, xed and dropbox are not up to date. I have no idea why.

As it happens, for dropbox I wrote a new PKGBUILD in https://github.com/manuel-192/dropbox-latest/blob/master/PKGBUILD and that helps keeping the dropbox package automatically and always up to date. No need for the dev to do anything when new dropbox version is available.