• Black screen after booting with Linux 4.20

Hi everyone,

I am new to Antergos and Linux and this is my first post. I would like to ask for suggestions related to problems I am having with the new Linux kernel 4.20.

Everything worked fine with 4.19. However, after updating to 4.20, I am booting into a black screen. I have this problems with all versions of 4.20, including the last one (4.20.2-arch1-1-ARCH).

After downgrading with chroot to my the last working version (4.19.8) everything is back to normal.

I cannot try anything after booting with 4.20 because the screen is black except for a few dots along a line about 1/4 from the top of the screen. I have a HP PC with Intel i7-2600 and nvidia GeForce 405.

After downgrading and rebooting I looked today in the logs. It seems that the problem is with nouveau. The “important” log (read from the gnome logs) shows:

04:45:31 kernel: nouveau 0000:01:00.0: fb: trapped write at 010174e560 on channel -1 [3fed0000 unknown] engine 06 [BAR] client 04 [PFIFO_WRITE] subclient 01 [IN] reason 00000002 [PAGE_NOT_PRESENT]
    04:45:33 systemd-coredum: Process 598 (Xorg) of user 0 dumped core.
    04:46:35 kernel: nouveau 0000:01:00.0: DRM: base-1: timeout

These lines are not present after booting with kernel 4.19.

Anyone has these kind of problems with Intel CPUs? I read about problems with AMD but not Intel CPUs. Any suggestions?

• I recommend to install the LTS kernel first, this is version 4.19.15 and is much more up to date than the version you’re using.
    Then after installing reinstall the newest kernel and try it with the nvidia drivers by installing nvidia-installer. After installing that, just type the following command:

sudo nvidia-installer

reboot and see if the newest kernel will run. I’ve tried the nouveau driver also earlier this month and the result wasn’t a smooth one. To be honest I didn’t bother to look into it further, since the nvidia driver gave me perfect results.