• #! SHEBANG issues

Hello,

I’ve learned how to run a program I wrote without using the command bash from the book The Unix Workbench by making the file executable, which I did, and writing the shebang on the first line of the script:

#!/usr/bin/env bash

It more or less worked during the example but when I tried to do the same on one of my own script using nano for writing it didn’t worked.

I also have to do it for python 3.7 scripts, which seems to be harder to make it works. The example I found on the python website was:

#!/usr/bin/env python

Could someone explain me how this part of the script works and give me an example that I can apply?

Thanks

• @ReversibleMan I’m no programmer but I always use:

#!/bin/bash

in my shell scripts and they always work.

• bash : unknown command

I now use Atom to write the program but it doesn’t work.

I tried almost every path I found in the $PATH variable:

#!/usr/local/bin bash
    #!/usr/bin bash
    #!/bin bash
    #!/usr/local/sbin bash

or

#!/usr/local/bin/bash
    #!/usr/bin/bash
    #!/bin/bash
    #!/usr/local/sbin/bash

• @ReversibleMan

What’s the output of this command:

which -a bash

The traditional #!/bin/bash on the first line works for me.
    It is not actually required at all, but may help some programs (like certain editors) that rely on it.

You must also make sure your script really is executable:

chmod +x "your-script"

• @manuel It’s required by KDE: if I want to run a shell-script by right-clicking and running in terminal it fails without it.
    Like I say I’m no programmer, just sayin’ :-)

• AFAIK using #/usr/bin/env <executable> is the portable way of defining the interpreter to use for scripts. I use portable in the sense that executable is more likely to be found on a wider variety of systems.