• solved Package corrupted in Gnome - Unable to boot

Hey guys, I’m new to the community but I’ve been using Antergos for several months now and I have to say I really enjoy it. I’ve been playing around with it a lot and have learned a boatload; however just today i came across an issue that I’m having trouble resolving on my own. I’m new to the whole Arch Linux scene which is which I went with Antergos to begin with as a decent introduction. Anyways my point is, i’m still probably what many of you would consider a noob so i apologize in advance if I’m missing something obvious. Anyways my issue is this:

Background/Context
    I don’t dual boot. I completely removed Windows 10 and just run Antergos as my main OS. So earlier today I was working on some stuff, browsing the web, doing some research, everything was fine. As i was working however, I ran a system update through the GUI package manager in the background (I know I could have just run sudo pacman -Syu but i wanted to omit a particular package update so un-checking the box seemed like an easy way to get the job done.). But still nothing really out of the ordinary. Here’s where everything went haywire, the system downloaded the updates from all of the relevant repositories as i’ve done probably hundreds of times before and during what i assume was the installation portion, suddenly my background went black, my terminal and browser windows became unresponsive and the whole system crashed. On reboot, i start off with the usual 3 options:
    -Antergos
    -Antergos(fallback)
    -Reboot into firmware interface (BIOS)