• Update check from package manger gui equal to upgrading system?

The arch wiki states that we should periodically upgrade the system.

Since I am new to rolling release I am a bit unsure but I assume the package manager gui does this frequently already? Or does the package manager gui just use the pacman -Syu command? Do I need to upgrade the system differently?

It is kinda confusing to me that there is even an option to only update a single package with its dependencies without updating correspoding packages as well (partial upgrade via pacman -Sy). Basically pacman -Syu equals aptitude update && upgrade because both check if dependencies are met throughout the system?
    And dist-upgrade is not needed in rolling release right?

• @wandang
    Antergos is a rolling release system, and it does not support partial upgrades.
    So you’ll update your system (or nothing if there are issues) typically with one of the following commands:

sudo pacman -Syu   # updates all packages
    sudo pacman -Syyuu # same, and updates package infos, and may even downgrade
    pamac-updater      # the GUI updater (a.k.a. pamac)

Then there are those AUR packages (user supported, but not officially supported). They can be used at your own risk. But pacman cannot update them, so you need to use one of the AUR helpers like aurman or yay, or configure pamac to handle also AUR packages.

This command comparison may also help you: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Pacman/Rosetta

• Wait, so pamac gives me the ability to install aur if prechecked on install but cannot maintain the packages after install? Wow. That seems counter-intuitive? I will look into yay then as well.

But my main (implied) question still stands (or I am too dumb right now). Is the automatic pamac update procedure not enough to keep the system updated?

Thanks for the clearup!

• My bad. I just read your linked article which clearly states that -Syu is both update and upgrade.