• Black screen after boot message: "starting version 239"

Hello Antergos community,

I am fairly new to Linux and have a serious problem.
    After updating warcraft III (playonlinux) my computer started working really slowly, so I tried to start system monitor to stop the process.
    System monitor would not start, so I tried to reboot my system, but after rebooting all I got was the starting version 239 message and then I got a black screen (no blinking cursor, it’s just entirely black).
    I tried switching to a different tty via ctrl + alt + f1-f7, but nothing happened.
    Booting to linux fallback, linux lts or linux lts fallback did not help either.

My Desktop Environment is Cinnamon and I have an NVidia 660 TI graphics card.
    If I need to provide any more information, please let me know.

I have a lot of important files on that computer and would really appreciate your help.

• @sora said in Black screen after boot message: "starting version 239":

Hi!

239 message

That’s normal

and then I got a black screen (no blinking cursor, it’s just entirely black).
    I tried switching to a different tty via ctrl + alt + f1-f7, but nothing happened.
    Booting to linux fallback, linux lts or linux lts fallback did not help either.

You followed the right procedures AFAIK

Did you update the system right before this issue?

You can try to boot Antergos iso, mount your partitions and then backup your important files at least. Then update your system, and reboot again. Since there are no error messages only trial and error may fix you problems like:

Booting antergos iso and mounting partitions, then:

• update system
    • regenerate initramfs
    • uninstall nvidia driver
    • change login manager

Tutorials to mount partitions:
    Sorry, the wiki page for antergos is not working here… I think the site is down.

• @fernandomaroto Thanks for your quick response.