• Asus Sabertooth Z87 with Samsung 970 pro with PCIE adapter

Hello!

this is regarding: Asus Sabertooth Z87 with Samsung 970 pro with PCIE adapter

I have installed the hardware, i can install windows 10 / OpenSUSE, Antergos onto the new NVME SSD but i cannot boot from it. please help me.

there are no boot options at all, i used the default settings during the installation.

i have the latest official bios.

• @premier69
    Do you mean none of the mentioned operating systems are booting?
    If so, then it may be that your motherboard does not support booting from NVMe disks.

In that case the only option would be to use another disk for booting (only), preferably a small SSD with Sata3 interface. A USB stick could also be used as a boot device, but that may be a bit slow… but if that is not a problem for you, why not try that.

But I’m not an expert on NMVe since I have no such disks, someone else may know more.

• I think you are right about my motherboard not supporting nvme, i bought it 5 years ago, it’s haswell so this is before M.2.

However, is it possible to get some workaround done?

booting up i get this message right after bios post check:

"the current BIOS setting do not fully support the boot device. Click OK to enter the BIOS Setup.

Go to Advanced > Boot CSM Parameters, and adjust the CSM settings to enable the boot device".

I have, I don’t quite understand the settings available there so I’ve tried some random combinations. EFI, Legacy, and in what order…
    Would you like a screenshot or do you know what I’m on about?

• @premier69
    This is a good tutorial about installing Antergos: https://antergos.com/wiki/install/installing-antergos-2/

And this gives more details: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/GRUB

I’m pretty sure you can make the machine boot (by using another drive as the boot drive) and store everything else to the M.2 SSD (so that the machine runs fast).